Rebekah Lyn's Kitchen

Come have a cup of coffee

Backyard Harvest June 29, 2012

Filed under: Cooking,Recipes — itsrebekahlyn @ 11:52 AM
Tags: , , , ,

Roma Tomatoes

Last month I shared with you some pictures of my potted garden herbs and tomatoes.  My yard is tiny so keeping plants in pots and even some of the reusable shopping bags has given me access to fresh herbs and tomatoes right outside my back door.  Over the weekend I harvested about 20 Roma tomatoes and was at a loss of what to do with them.

Tomato Basil is one of my favorite soups so I searched for a recipe to make it from scratch.  I was thrilled when I found one that was super easy, but it only called for two tomatoes to make enough soup for two.  Since I was using the smaller Roma tomato I decided to use five, and I probably could have used two or three more.  I had some left over cheese tortellini, from the recipe I referenced on June 22,  that I added to my soup as well.  Check out how easy this recipe is.

w/ cheese tortellini  Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

Serves 2

2 tomatoes-peeled, seeded, and diced

2 cups tomato juice (I used a can of diced tomatoes that I pureed in the blender)

7 leaves fresh basil

½ cup heavy whipping cream

¼ cup butter

salt & pepper to taste

Place tomatoes and juice in a stock pot over medium heat.  Simmer for 30 minutes.  Puree       the tomato mixture along with the basil leaves and return the puree to the stock pot

Place the pot over medium heat and stir in the heavy whipping cream and butter.  Season with salt & pepper.  Heat, stirring until the butter is melted.  Do not boil.

If you want to serve more guests, you can multiple each ingredient by 2.  I still have a ton of tomatoes left so this weekend I will be making salsa and searching for ways to preserve whatever is left over.  I’ll keep you posted.

 

3 Responses to “Backyard Harvest”

  1. DiVoran Says:

    You are so brave to grow tomatoes. That soup sounds wonderful. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  2. […] Backyard Harvest (rebekahlynskitchen.wordpress.com) […]

    Like


Leave a Reply

