Rebekah Lyn's Kitchen

Come have a cup of coffee

Never Arrive Empty Handed June 27, 2012

Filed under: Baking,Cooking,Family,Fresh Foods,Recipes — itsrebekahlyn @ 11:53 AM
Tags: , , , ,

Summer means strawberries.  I love strawberries and was thrilled I was able to go to the Strawberry Festival at my friend’s church when I was visiting North Carolina last month.  They had strawberry cake, homemade ice cream, pie, muffins, and chocolate covered.  I ate until I couldn’t eat anymore and was sad to leave.  Since returning home I have oogled the strawberries in the grocery store, but knew I didn’t have anyone to bake for so I restrained myself from scooping them up.

 

Sunday I was invited to dinner with some friends and I saw my chance to break out a new strawberry recipe.  I was born with the spirit of a hostess and all the times I visited my great-aunt Virginia and watched as she hosted our family gatherings made me want to be just like her when I grew up.  Sadly I don’t currently have the home to play hostess, but I can still practice my skills when I am invited to other homes.  I immediately pulled out my recipe, made my shopping list, and hit the store.

 

When I knocked on my hostess’ door and saw her smile as I handed her the container of strawberry pie mini trifles I felt the rush entertaining always brings me.  If you are looking for a refreshing treat sure to impress give this recipe a try.

 

 

Strawberry Pie Mini Trifles                    

 1 package refrigerated pie dough (14.5 oz)

1 egg white

1 tablespoon water

1/4 cup plus 2 tablespoons sugar, divided

2 cups sliced strawberries

2 cups Whipped Cream (recipe below)

Preheat oven to 425 degrees

Line a baking sheet with parchment paper

Unroll pie dough and place on baking sheet

In a small bowl, whisk together egg white and water.  Brush onto pie dough.  Sprinkle with 2 tablespoons sugar.

Bake until golden brown, approximately 10 minutes.  Cool completely on baking sheet.  Break into large pieces and set aside.

In a medium bowl, combine sliced strawberries and remaining ¼ cup sugar.

In 8 miniature trifle dishes (I used flared 8 oz juice glasses), layer one-third of piecrust pieces, one-third of strawberries, and half of whipped cream.  Repeat layers. Top with remaining strawberries and piecrust pieces.  (I topped with fresh mint)

 

Whipped Cream

2 1/2 cups heaving whipping cream

1 cup confectioners’ sugar

In a large bowl, beat whipping cream at high speed with an electric mixer until soft peaks form.  Slowly add confectioners’ sugar, beating until stiff peaks form.  Refrigerate until needed.

 

3 Responses to “Never Arrive Empty Handed”

  1. Onisha Says:

    Yum. I like the recipes that are good for one or two

    Like

  2. mydearbakes Says:

    Thanks for sharing! Really hope I can do something like that! =)

    Like


Leave a Reply

