Rebekah Lyn's Kitchen

Come have a cup of coffee

The Sick Box May 25, 2015

Filed under: Uncategorized — itsrebekahlyn @ 8:45 AM
Tags: , , ,

 A couple of years ago, I came down with a nasty cold or flu and found myself too sick to cook or go to the store for easy food. I survived on crackers and toast for several days, vowing to never be caught unprepared again. When I regained my strength, I found a small box and filled it with cans of chicken noodle soup, fruit cups, and easy mac & cheese. That box has come in handy on several occasions, even when I wasn’t sick, but too busy to worry about cooking a good meal.

 It’s become second nature to replace items when I use them, but I recently discovered something was missing. Everything I ate made me sick yet I had a craving for chocolate chip cookies. Thinking back, I realized that I always seem to crave something chocolate when I’m not feeling well. I’m no scientist so I can’t swear that chocolate has healing powers, but I have decided to make sure there are chocolate treats in my sick box from now on. If nothing else, the cocoa can be just as important as nutrition when feeling under the weather.

Maybe it’s time to create a sick box of your own.  I’d love to know what you would put in your box.

 

Leave a Reply

