Rebekah Lyn's Kitchen

Come have a cup of coffee

The Joys of Spring March 17, 2014

Filed under: Fresh Foods,The Garden — itsrebekahlyn @ 9:23 AM
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Florida doesn’t usually see much spring. We tend to go from not terribly hot to disgustingly hot overnight. This year we’ve actually had some very pleasant days mixed in, with temperatures staying in the 60s and 70s. We even had a low in the 40s this past week. We don’t worry about frost too much down here when we start planting our gardens. I got mine started a little over a week ago: two different tomatoes, zucchini, and petite sweet pepper, along with some new lavender, basil, and rosemary. I wanted a squash plant too, but I haven’t been able to find one yet. I love planting the seedlings and watching them grow.

 

Lavender, Petite Sweet Pepper, Roma Tomato, Heirloom Tomato, and Basil

Lavender, Petite Sweet Pepper, Roma Tomato, Heirloom Tomato, and Basil

Lemon Tree March 2014

Lemon tree in bloom

 

 

Walking out on the patio is a delight these days. My mums are blooming, the lemon tree is thriving in its new pot with blossoms covering the branches, my daisies are going crazy, and there is still a cool enough breeze to sit down and soak it all in. I’m enjoying it while I can. Before long I will break a sweat the second I step outside, but at least I will be harvesting my fresh veggies.

 

9 Responses to “The Joys of Spring”

  1. I am in NY and it is still so cold here – but we can see buds trying to spring up – it lets me know this never-ending winter will end soon – thanks for the photos – they brightened my day. Having a little herb and garden envy right now. 🙂

  2. I am in Sunny Southern California, but live in a tiny apartment three blocks from the sand by the beach… Though one would think I could find a way to garden, it simply won’t happen in the apartment, or anywhere nearby. There is a co-op garden on Main Street in Santa Monica, where people can pay for space, but it’s waiting list is a mile long… seems gardening property is prime! Great post!

    • I love the community gardening idea for people in urban areas that still want to exercise their green thumbs. I imagine it would be hard to grow veggies & herbs close to the salt spray though.

  3. The lemon tree is looking great.

  4. We still have ice covering grass and dormant gardens. I’m so looking forward to greener days.

  5. danagriffin Says:

    I can only imagine the therapeutic value you get tending to your plants, and the story ideas that spring forth. Me, I’m too big into instant gratification for gardening. Mowing, painting, rebuilding around the house I can see the results immediately.

    I hope your garden turns out well this year.


Leave a Reply

