Rebekah Lyn's Kitchen

Come have a cup of coffee

Lemons for Christmas December 29, 2013


I hope you all had a nice Christmas. Growing up we always had a big Christmas breakfast after opening gifts and then my mom would have to go to work from 3:00-11:00 so we never really developed the tradition of a big dinner of Christmas Day. Even after she moved from the hospital to the doctor’s office with the holiday off, we didn’t really develop a specific meal for the day, and I’m happy about that, because it gives a chance to try new things.

I had no idea all the goodness I was missing by not reading Southern Living until this first edition came and I found a recipe for Lemon-Rosemary-Garlic Chicken and Potatoes. My lemons are FINALLY ripe so there was no question this would be our Christmas dinner. I made sure we had everything we would need and went to sleep Christmas Eve with lemons, rather the sugar plums, dancing in my head. (What is a sugar plum anyway?)

The big day came, we opened our gifts, ate our breakfast, then went for a drive. I’ve been wanting to tour the Merritt Island Wildlife Refuge for months now to shoot some photos and video for my new book trailer. Who knew we’d spend most of the day exploring, visiting places my dad hadn’t seen in twenty years or more? By the time we came home, we were too tired to cook so we nibbled on cake and pie, cheese and popcorn.

Australian Pines along Haulover Canal

Australian Pines along Haulover Canal

Rainbow in the Ocean

A Rainbow dipped into the ocean just before sunset.

Never fear, though. I wasn’t going to let my lemons go to waste. We made our new dish the following day and enjoyed it all the more for the extended anticipation.

Lemon-Rosemary-Garlic Chicken

The lemon tree still bears plenty of fruit and I have a hankering for some fresh lemon tarts as soon as all of the other treats are gobbled up.

 

7 Responses to “Lemons for Christmas”

  1. Unless a butter up the turkey type event occurs, I think Christmas 2013 will be one of my favorite memories.

    Like

  2. Bob Nailor Says:

    Great post and sounds like an absolutely yummy dinner. Don’t have a lemon tree (living in NW Ohio) but will get some to test this recipe out.

    Like

  3. Lemon tarts are divine! I’ve been making so many lemon desserts this holiday season, ill have to whip some of those up too!

    Like

  4. I must admit I sometimes have popcorn for dinner, LOL. Sounds like a lovely day!

    Like

  5. […] able to enjoy my first meal with my own fresh lemons over Christmas.  I wrote about it on my blog, Rebekah Lyn’s Kitchen,  I also love to bake, especially when I am feeling […]

    Like


Leave a Reply

