Rebekah Lyn's Kitchen

Come have a cup of coffee

Gifts from the Heart January 23, 2013

Filed under: Baking,Cooking,Family,Recipes,Tea — itsrebekahlyn @ 12:00 PM
Tags: , , , , ,

The first month of a new year will soon be in our rearview mirror and I haven’t posted a blog. Forgive me for getting caught up in Table of Cookiesthe crush of Christmas activities and succumbing to the flu.

As you may recall, I was in a baking frenzy the first couple weeks of December. I had toffee and five different types of cookies piling up in my kitchen, but there was one more recipe I couldn’t wait to try; Vanilla-Sour Cream Tea Bread. This recipe came to me in the November/December issue of Tea Time magazine.

On my weekly stroll through Target I had stumbled upon a package of  disposable loaf pans. I dropped them in my cart certain the perfect recipe Tea Bread Loaveswould come along to fill the pans.  My loaf pans were larger than therecipe called for so I doubled the measurements and was able to make 6 loaves (7.5×3.25×2-inch).

When the tea bread was baked and cooler I packaged it up along with my cookies and toffee to give to coworkers, my hairdresser, and my masseuse. I loaded my treats into the car and delivered them around town and the office. Over the next several days my coworkers came to me and thanked me, telling me what their favorite treat had been. When I saw my hair dresser and masseuse this month, they both had stories of how they had shared the tea bread with their families on Christmas and received rave reviews, asking for the recipe. Talking with my masseuse last week about how much her guests had enjoyed the tea bread , I realized that I experienced as much pride in these compliments as I do when I receive compliments on my writing, and I felt the same jolt of happiness that I get when I’m in the kitchen mixing up a new treat.

Why did we get away from homemade gifts? Sure it can be time consuming, but in the long run it shows how much we care about those we are giving the gift to.  Next time you are struggling to find the perfect gift, consider  opening your pantry or flip through a cookbook. There are bountiful ideas out there for gifts from the heart.

Vanilla-Sour Cream Tea Bread

as seen in Tea Time Magazine

makes 4 mini-loaves

1 ½ cups all-purpose flour

¾ cup sugar

2 teaspoons baking powder

½ teaspoon baking soda

¼ teaspoon salt

½ cup sour cream

¼ cup melted butter

2 large eggs

2 teaspoons vanilla, butter, and nut flavoring

I had trouble finding this flavoring so wanted you to see what it looks like

I had trouble finding this flavoring so wanted you to see what it looks like

  • Preheat oven to 350
  • Spray 4 mini (3×5-inch) loaf pans with nonstick spray with flour. Set aside
  • In a medium bowl, combine flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, and salt, whisking well. Set aside
  • In a small bowl, combine sour cream, melted butter, eggs, and vanilla, butter, and nut flavoring, stirring well. Add to flour mixture, stirring just until wet ingredients are incorporated. (Batter will be stiff.)
  • Divide batter evenly among prepared pans, patting level using a spatula.
  • Bake until light golden brown and a wooden pick inserted in centers comes out clean, 20-30 minutes.
  • Remove from pans, and let cool completely on wire racks.
  • Wrap tightly in plastic wrap or store in an airtight container for up to 2 days.

* I doubled the recipe and made 6 loaves (7.5×3.25×2-inch).

*A bit of lemon curd spread on a piece of bread is delicious

Bread & Lemon Curd

 

Leave a Reply

