Rebekah Lyn's Kitchen

Come have a cup of coffee

Happy Birthday Pam July 20, 2012

Filed under: Baking,Cooking,Family,Recipes,Tea — itsrebekahlyn @ 11:50 AM
Tags: , , , ,

Wednesday was my dear friend Pam’s birthday.  Since I was a kid she has been like a second mother to me, but especially more so this past year as my parents have taken to traveling in their retirement years.  Pam has taken me in on those holidays my parents were away so I wanted to do something nice in honor of her birthday. After considering several ideas, I decided to invite Pam and her daughter Jennifer over for dinner.  I know Pam enjoys grilled chicken, but I’m not confident enough in my grilling skills yet so I decided to make the Garlic Roasted Chicken Breast recipe I recently found.  I tested this a couple weeks ago in the toaster oven and was amazed at how juicy it came out in only 15 minutes.   This is definitely one of my new favorite chicken dishes.

My shoulder has been bothering me so I admit I made instant mashed potatoes, but I added about a tablespoon of sour cream to the Garlic & Herb mix and they were so creamy and yummy.  I could have eaten the whole pot of those.  Of course there had to some colorful veggies as well so I sautéed squash, zucchini, and onion in olive oil.  This is such an easy, tasty way to add veggies to any meal.

Instead of doing a traditional birthday cake with too many leftovers for our girlish figures, I opted to make lemon soufflés.  I discovered this recipe a couple years ago and it is definitely one of my absolute favorite desserts, especially in the summer.  It is light and refreshing after a long hot day.  I had forgotten the base of the soufflé is actually lemon curd, and aside from the zesting of an entire lemon it is incredibly simple to make.  Next time I need lemon curd to go with my scones I will be sure to pull this recipe out.

With my new Afternoon in Tuscany cd playing softly in the background, the house freshly cleaned, and a few candles scattered around, we enjoyed a lovely evening of food and fellowship.

 

2 Responses to “Happy Birthday Pam”

  1. Onisha Ellis Says:

    Love your lemon souffle and I love Pam. I’m just full of love today.

    Like

  2. Pam Says:

    Thank you sooo much for my Birthday celebration dinner with the yummy food, calming atmosphere, and great conversation-I love you muchly!

    Like


Leave a Reply

